Sunny Side Down

simply-goa-finalA friend one Friday night asked me to come along to a place called Simply Goa. Thoughts of fresh air, shack like arrangements, cane lampshades and waiters with funny outfits immediately crossed my mind. I was expecting a strong smell of Feni to greet me as soon as I stepped into the place, however that was not to be. Located on the outskirts of Bandra and in the heart of Khar, this was not love at first sight.

The ambience was nothing close to anything a through bred Goan would like. Although the bar is fairly big the seating arrangements were that of a regular sophisticated “Shiv Sagar”. There is an outside sitting patio with gravel flooring and benches made out of tree bark. We were greeted with soft Hindi music playing, until a friend of mine saved us by requesting for some 80’s. I have heard that they have renovated (already) since I was there (read sunset paintings on the wall).

In the food department you have the regulars like Xacuti (Rs.180 on average), Balchao (Rs.250) and a few crab preparations, but they are nothing to write home about. Drinks are well priced for the regular drinker and if you are lucky enough you can avail of the “buy one get one” (which switches from wine and beer to hard liquor on select days).  However much of the staff are oblivious to these so called “offers.”   If I try to very subtly put across my dissatisfaction with the wrong use of the much cherished word “Goa” I would call the place rubbish, save the Karaoke  nights on Mondays. If “Simply Goa” needs to compete with already established places like “Soul Fry” who provide the same experience only with much more culture and panache they would really need to pull up their kashtis, and start by recruiting competent staff.

– Sherwyn Rodricks

Leave a comment